Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Not in my kitchen! July 27, 2008

Filed under: household solutions — Kirstin @ 8:28 am
Tags: , ,

Nature is beautiful. I appreciate the trees, grass, ocean, and animals. But there’s one thing I have difficulty embracing and that’s insects. As long as they stay outside, I’m fine with that. I just don’t want them in my kitchen. I will say proudly, though, that I do rescue spiders when I find them. After all, they’re harmless and go after the real pesky insects like mosquitoes. That’s where I draw the line, though. Anything else has to go.

I live in an apartment building and so there are particular pests, no matter how clean your kitchen is, that sometimes find their way into your home. Unfortunately, you’re often at the mercy of your neighbor. So, about 4 weeks ago I spotted a (I’m cringing at the thought of just typing the next word) cockroach. My first reaction was to set off a bomb with the most horrible toxic cloud imaginable to go after the one I saw and any others that I immediately pictured living behind the appliances. But I resisted and called a friend. She simply suggested pouring a barrier line of baking soda just under and in front of the stove, dishwasher and refrigerator (see an earlier post on the wonders of baking soda as a cleaning product). I stepped into action right away and even pushed some through any small holes I found as an extra precaution.

Well, it’s been a month now and I’m very pleased to say (as I knock on the wooden table here) that I haven’t seen one since I built my “great wall”, as I like to think of it. Resist temptations of using harsh chemical pest controls and take a look at Earth Easy for other natural ways of getting rid of ants, dust mites, mosquitoes, flies, fleas, wasps and others.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

 

One Response to “Not in my kitchen!”

  1. BJ Thomas Says:

    Other green remedies: EcoSmart produces numerous eco-friendly products that are so benign to mammals, fish, fowl and the environment, that they are exempt from EPA regulation. They are formulated with “essential plant oil” technology, and disrupt a key neurotransmitter (octopamine) in invertabrates, that mammals, fish, and fowl do not have. Some of the plants used in these products include: rosemary, cinnamon, wintergreen, chrysanthemum, etc. From experience, I can attest that these products are very effective indeed. Check them out under the “eco-products” tab @ http://www.youdoitpestcontrol.com.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.