Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Product Review – Cleaning up without paper towels August 27, 2008

One thing many “green” people I speak to agree with is that we need to give up our paper towels use. I used to use them all the time to clean up spills on the counter and sometimes to dry my hands. They’re such a terrible waste.

About 2 months ago, I came across Twist, a 100% biodegradable sponge. Twist comes in different forms – a bamboo sponge, a “naked” sponge made with no dyes and 100% cellulose, a sponge cloth, and a loofah sponge. I’ve been using the “Euro Sponge #10” to clean up my kitchen counter spills. After a day or two of use, I just put it in the dish washer to “freshen it up” as the packaging says to do. It’s helped to cut back quite a bit from my paper towel use.

I buy them at Whole Foods Market but from their site I was able to see that they are also available at Bed Bath & Beyond. You can enter your location on the site to find other many places where their product is sold.

On the back of all of their products is directions and an outline of a bird feeder for you to cut out and make. It’s a great project for a child or the big kid in you. What a great added touch!

The important thing is try switching to reusable substitutes in your kitchen. Start using sponges, cloth napkins and kitchen towels to save money and resources.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

 

6 Responses to “Product Review – Cleaning up without paper towels”

  1. Laurin Says:

    I’ve been using the loofah sponge and love it. Pretty bonus: the natural colors match my kitchen. No garish yellow sponge for me!

  2. lil mama Says:

    We go through 1 roll of paper towels about every month/month and a half which I think is pretty good considering my husband was like you, using them to dry his hands! Now I use washcloths for everything except cleaning the toilet and cleaning up after raw meat. This sounds like a great product though. I like that you can put them into the dishwasher. I’ll definitely have to look into it!

  3. We have a kitchen drawer full of rags made out of old t-shirts and use those instead of paper towels. Yes, we still have paper towels available, but our use has gone way, way, way down.

  4. Val Says:

    I am not so sure I like the idea of running them through the dishwasher. Wouldn’t they absorb some of the filth?

  5. Val,
    Good question. They don’t seem to. I quickly rinse off dishes before I put them in the dish washer. I’m sure this decreases the chance of this. After they’ve gone through the washer, they don’t have a smell to them and seem clean.

    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener

  6. Marcy Says:

    I’m realizing that, while I’m trying to be more green in some areas, I have lots of habits that are not very green at all. Like using paper towels for so many things. We have kitchen towels that I use often, but this post does inspire me to get better about using cloth also for napkins and spills, and to have enough to be able to wash them after only a couple of uses.

    @Val– it seems to me that if you trust a dishwasher to make your dishes clean then it would also be able to clean a sponge.


Leave a Reply

