Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Product Review – Fresh Baby Food Trays for making baby food September 10, 2008

Before my daughter was born, I knew I would try to make her own food when the time came for her to start solids. I wanted to play an active roll in what she eats and I wanted to do something to avoid using all of those many baby food jars (even though they can be recycled at home for others uses). I did some research on what it involved, checked out some books on what to do and looked into what I needed. I’ve been doing it for 3 months now and it turns out, it’s all very simple. This isn’t because I have great culinary skills. Far from it – just ask my friends and family who’ve probably never had more than a cup of tea made by me. All it takes is some simple planning every few days and a short amount of chopping time.

I buy fresh, organic foods when possible (see an earlier post of mine about which foods you should buy organic and another on where you can find farmers markets in your area) and frozen when I can’t. So far, I’ve been pretty lucky with finding both. Every few nights, I chop up a fresh fruit or vegetable (or take out a frozen option) and steam it in a pot with a steamer basket until everything is really soft. Then I use my “blender wand” (a food processor would work too but there would be more to clean up afterwards) to puree with a little water from the pot.  Now that my daughter is 9 months old, I keep it a bit chunky so she can practice chewing.

Then I get out my Fresh Baby Food Trays (which are BPA and phthalate free) and fill them in with what I’ve made. Into the freezer they go and the next morning, I put the cubes into Zip Lock Freezer Bags (not the Easy Zipper Freezer Bags. See below in the comment section for information on this) with a label saying what it is and when it was made. It is recommended that you use the cubes within 3 months. I’ve found the trays to be easy to clean and the covers fit well so there’s never been any spills.

Each night, I pick out what she’ll eat the next day, put them into small Pyrex bowls, and leave them in the refrigerator so they can defrost. Ten seconds in the microwave heats them up perfectly and there’s never any waste because I can easily choose the sized cubes that I know she’ll eat. When I’m away from home and I need to keep her food hot or cold, I’ve used the Thermos Foogo. For BPA-free utensils, take a look at ZRecommends here, here, here, and here.

There are plenty of books available with recipes and information about making your own baby food. I’ve found Super Baby Food by Ruth Yaron and Blender Baby Food by Nicole Young to be very good. Honestly, thought, you don’t need books in the beginning – just steam the basics and follow the simple instructions I’ve given. A great web source that I highly recommend, though, is Wholesome Baby Food. They have everything you need to know, from what foods to give at different months, to how to prepare them. They even list recipes.

So consider giving it a try and when friends and family praise you for what they perceive as being hard work, you can either be cheeky and go with it or tell them the truth and spread the good word.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

 

9 Responses to “Product Review – Fresh Baby Food Trays for making baby food”

  1. This is exactly how I made food for my daughters when they were babies and it was so easy.

  2. Tricia Says:

    I actaully have a note in to tupperware now asking about theirs.. I am not sure about the bpa in tupperware. do you know off hand?

    can I add you to my blog? we are doing “kids green week”
    zoososilly.blogspot.com

  3. Tricia,
    Thanks so much for visiting and asking your really great question. The Soft Landing has some information about Tupperware. You can see it here:

    http://thesoftlanding.wordpress.com/2008/02/22/the-green-guide-list-of-safer-food-storage-options/

    Z Recommends has even more information that you can find here:

    http://zrecs.blogspot.com/2008/02/z-report-bpa-tupperware.html

    http://zrecs.blogspot.com/2008/02/z-report-on-bpa-in-infant-care-products.html

    I hope this helps and you can absolutely add me to your blog roll. Thank you!

    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener

  4. Laura Says:

    Great, great info, thanks!!

    BTW- we have rock n serve from tupperware and it does have BPA in the plastic. (sigh)

  5. Nadine Says:

    Aren’t ziploc bags made out of ‘nasty’ plastic?

  6. Kirstin Says:

    Nadine,

    Thanks so much for your question. You’re right to question plastic and should always be aware of what kind you’re using. It terms of what is generally viewed as “safer” plastic, plastic with the recycling numbers of 1, 2, 4, and 5 are generally viewed as being “safer” choices.

    According to the customer service representative (that I just double checked with), here are Zip Lock’s products along with their recycling numbers:

    Zip Lock Freezer Bags – 4

    Easy Zipper Freezer Bag – 7

    Zip Lock Sandwich Bags – 4

    Zip Lock Snack Bags – 4

    Easy Zipper Storage Bags – 7

    Double Zipper Storage Bags – 4

    So, I would stick with the items with the “4” code when you feel you need to use plastic bags and do your best to wash and reuse them.

    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener

  7. Colleen Says:

    I made my daughter’s baby food, and now that she is older I have been using the trays for milk cubes to add to oatmeal…
    I have just discovered that 2 of the 4 trays I have are made of #3 instead of #4?!?!? I am so stressed out. Here I thought I was doing something good, isn’t #3 one of the bad ones??!!
    I bought these trays because the website said they were free of harmful plastics!! What is a mother to do?!?!

  8. Kirstin Says:

    Colleen,

    I contacted Fresh Baby and asked them about the numbers on the bottom of their trays. Here is their response:

    Hello Kirstin,

    Thanks for calling me to talk about our trays.

    The numbers (1,2,3, or4) on the bottom of a So Easy Storage Tray indicate the cavity number that the tray was made from in our plastic mold. Our tray mold is a 4 cavity mold and 4 trays are made at the same time. As a quality control measure each cavity is numbered. If there is ever an issue with our trays, we will are able to pinpoint which cavity of the mold has a problem.

    Our So Easy Storage Trays have always be made from FDA-approved food-safe plastic. #4 LDPE (Low Density Polyethylene) and #2 HDPE (High Density Polyethylene). These materials contain no PVC, Bisphenol-A (BPA) or Plasticizer.
    Cheryl
    Cheryl Tallman
    Fresh Baby
    202 Grove Street
    Petoskey, MI 49770
    P:231-348-2706 X-10
    C:231-838-0235
    F:888-747-3247

    Web: http://www.FreshBaby.com
    Twitter: Cheryl Tallman (FreshBabyBiz) on Twitter
    Blog: http://freshbaby.typepad.com/

  9. Colleen Says:

    Great! I am so happy to know that these products are safe! I have loved using them and look forward to using them again for baby #2! Easy to use and easy to clean. I highly recommend them!


Leave a Reply

