Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Companies “going green” need to walk the walk October 16, 2008

Filed under: What's wrong with this picture?! — Kirstin @ 9:32 am
Tags: , ,

I love Apple products. I work on a MacBook everyday and I’ve had the same iPod for 4 years that’s still going strong. This week, Apple presented its new MacBook as their “greenest” yet. Here are some features:

  • Mercury-free LCD display
  • Arsenic-free display glass
  • Brominated flame retardant-free
  • Total greenhouse gas emissions: 460 kg CO2e
  • PVC-free internal cables
  • Highly recyclable aluminum and glass enclosure
  • Meets Energy Star requirements
  • Packaging consumes 41% less volume than the previous generation MacBook
  • Participates in various product take-back and recycling programs

Then they go and do something like this:

Do you see this?! Apple has sent us a replacement plug, a little larger than a quarter, in a box this large, surrounded by one inch foam. When companies tout how “green” they’re becoming, they need to walk the walk when the grand presentation is over and the cameras aren’t filming.

I guess it’s safe to say that Apple won’t be asking me to test drive any of their products.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Copyright © 2008. Trying To Be Greener. All rights reserved.
 

4 Responses to “Companies “going green” need to walk the walk”

  1. Going Green Consultant Says:

    I, too, was very proud to read all of the changes that Apple had made to their new line. I am still using the old PB G4, but I am excited to know that when I do decide to upgrade that I will have a much eco-friendlier upgrade. With that said, your picture speaks a thousand words. Wow, the things companies do sometimes just amazes me.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    That kind of packaging makes me nuts, although packing peanuts are what truly send me over the edge.

  3. Criss Says:

    *sigh*

    Makes you wonder what they’re thinking… (And how much are consumers paying for all that?)

  4. Allie Says:

    Reminds me of my days in purchasing for an IT group. We would get a box, 1’x2x1′, full of either packing peanuts or those plastic “pillows” for ONE SHEET OF PAPER. It was pretty ridiculous; they sent us a printed sheet of license keys for software in a box, when they had already emailed the keys to us. It was bad. No matter how many times I complained, they just kept sending those darned boxes . . .


Leave a Reply

