Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Eco Rant November 5, 2008

As I’ve mentioned in earlier posts, I live in an apartment building. Because of this, certain things are out of my control. One of which happened yesterday. My next door neighbor’s apartment was painted – something she really didn’t want done but the law demands it every few years.

It was obvious from the very start that low or VOC-free paint was not used due to the smell that made our heads swim. Volatile Organic Compounds (or VOCs) are emitted gases that may have short or long term adverse health effects. Choosing a VOC-free paint will eliminate toxins from emitting into the air over time and therefore, create a safer environment for you and your family.

To make matters worse, our neighbor has asthma and tried to spend the day away from home. She still had to come home to it and spend the night with it, though, and so did we. We were given no warning that this was all going to be done.

I know there’s an economic issue here but safety should take precedent. It really bothers me when “green issues” affect us, “go wrong”,  and seem to be out of our control.

So what bothers you? Do you have a neighbor who uses chemical fertilizer or has cut down healthy trees to add on an unnecessary edition to their home? Here’s your chance to let it all out. Go ahead, we’re all listening.

angry

Photo from Flickr by dcJohn

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Copyright © 2008. Trying To Be Greener. All rights reserved.
 

7 Responses to “Eco Rant”

  1. When trying to take our car battery to be properly disposed of, the guy at the dump said, “oh, just throw it in..” Are you f-ing kidding me?! We waited for a regional toxic waste drop off.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I have neighbors who power wash their driveways for hours at a time. Not only is it a huge waste of water, it’s also loud and obnoxious.

    Ditto my neighbors’ leaf blowers.

    Then there are the neighbors who use moth balls to keep deer out of their gardens. You can probably imagine the smell.

    Can you and the other people in your apartment put together a petition for the manager to request better paints?

  3. Sara Says:

    There is a house nearby that literally has at least 50 light up decorations on their front lawn every holiday, a good chunk of which are inflatable. I can only cringe as I look in their yard while I try to save electricity by keeping lights off in our house.

  4. melissawest Says:

    I have neighbors who swear by chemical fertilizers for their grass–and we’re “downstream” from them, naturally. I have neighbors who mow every square inch of their property, riding of course!–it’s loud, ugly and pollutes the air. Don’t even get me started on leaf blowers!

  5. Sam Says:

    It really bothers me that so many restaurants still use plastic and styrofoam. There are so many other eco-friendly options and restaurants continue to use plastic and styrofoam containers because they are cheap. I guess I just need to bite the bullet and bring my own containers everywhere, but that’s such a hassle and defeats the purpose for why I choose to eat out in the first place. Catch 22. Sacrifices. Thanks for letting me vent.

  6. Patti Says:

    Where we live is pretty rural and at a dead end. One of our neighbors is always leaving their paper in their box, which always seems to blows all over into our yard. They’ve had their trash can tip over many times on trash day because they fill it too full and I’m the one who is out there picking it up. grrr…

  7. Marcy Says:

    We just moved into a duplex that has a front yard, which is great, especially since our landlord hires someone else to deal with the mowing, etc. But now after reading Green Babies Sage Moms I’m wondering what kinds of fertilizers they might be using… and thus may need to bring this up with them. Of course I kinda feel bad b/c in the 2 weeks we’ve been in this place we’ve already called to get a bunch of stuff repaired, and I don’t want to be That Tenant. But then again I have a young child here…

    Oh, and our bathroom windows had cracks in them so they got replaced today, which is great, except I can just smell the ickiness from them having to melt off the previous windows and whatever sealant they used to put in the new ones, and I’m not supposed to touch the windows for 2 days to let them “seal” properly so I can’t even air out the bathroom. So I have the door closed right now, and I guess if we limit the fumes-breathing to a few minutes while we use the bathroom at least that’s better than having it all over the house and D breathing it in… =(


Leave a Reply

