Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Recycled Yarn for Eco Crafters November 11, 2008

Are any of you knitters, crocheters, or generally crafty people? I’ve been knitting for about 8 years now and there’s just nothing more relaxing to me than knitting away on a cold day with a hot cup of tea next to me. That is, unless the pattern is driving me crazy with directions that make absolutely no sense.

Anyway, I was looking around at the Lion Yarn site for some patterns that my mother-in-law could use for my daughter. I always find this to be a convenient site to go to for her because Lion Yarns are easily found in many craft stores around the country.

To my great surprise, I realized that they now make a recycled yarn that’s “made from cotton fabric pieces that would otherwise be discarded when fabric is cut to produce tee-shirts”. I just love when eco-friendly products are easily available to the masses!

Lion Yarn

Lion Yarn

As a side note, web sites that I really enjoy going to for free, modern patterns are:

If you’d like some great information about how to knit or eco-knitting resources for holiday season gifts, take a look at an article from Plenty Magazine. If you know of any others great web sites for patterns or crafts, be sure to include them with your comment.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

 

4 Responses to “Recycled Yarn for Eco Crafters”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I love it that it’s easier to get eco yarn.

    One of my faves is The Wool Peddler (www.recycledsilk.com). They have a line of silk yarn made from remnants from sari factories. A women’s cooperative in Nepal takes the threads and creates the yarn. The results are gorgeous, funky yarns in amazing colors.

  2. Jill Says:

    Whoa. That’s so cool. I want to be more on the look out for eco-yarn. It’s something I hadn’t thought too much about! And I love that I’m reading your post with a pile of knitting in my lap. 🙂

  3. Juan Says:

    Do you have a list of recycled yarn spinners or manufacturers…

    thanks,
    Juan

  4. Kirstin Says:

    Juan,

    I personally do not know of any but perhaps this link would help:

    http://www.etsy.com/search_results.php?search_type=tag_title&search_query=recycled+yarn

    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener


Leave a Reply

