Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Motrin’s ad against babywearing November 17, 2008

Filed under: baby — Kirstin @ 9:06 am
Tags: , ,

The other day, Crunchy Domestic Goddess was sending out information on Twitter about a Motrin ad about babywearing.

UPDATE: Motrin has now pulled the ad but you can see it on You Tube and Crunchy Domestic Goddess has received an email from the VP of Marketing at Motrin. You can also see an article written by the New York Times today about the whole story.

Here it is in it’s entirety complements of Barb who seems to have brought it to everyone’s attention:

Wearing your baby seems to be in fashion. I mean, in theory it’s a great idea.

There’s the front baby carrier, sling, schwing, wrap, pouch.

And who knows what else they’ve come up with. Wear your baby on your side, your front, go hands free.

Supposedly, it’s a real bonding experience.

They say that babies carried close to the bod tend to cry less than others.

But what about me? Do moms that wear their babies cry more than those who don’t?

I sure do!

These things put a ton of strain on your back, your neck, your shoulders. Did I mention your back?!

I mean, I’ll put up with the pain because it’s a good kind of pain; it’s for my kid.

Plus, it totally makes me look like an official mom.

And so if I look tired and crazy, people will understand why.

The other day, I wrote about my dilemma with my Baby Bjorn being difficult to use now due to my daughter’s current weight. Some baby carriers are better at different stages in your child’s life – others can go the distance. Babywearing is something by my daughter and I enjoy so I was interested in finding a new one that suited us both at this point in time.

I completely disagree with Motrin’s ad in that it downplays the benefits of babywearing and centers on the “discomfort” of the parent. As I said, finding the right carrier and wearing it properly makes all the difference – there is no need for “discomfort”. What bothers me most about the ad is that it could potentially discourage people from actually trying babywearing. But just when you thought it couldn’t get worse, it’s International Babywearing Month from November 12 – 18. If you agree and find it offensive, you can let Motrin know about it here.

As an update to my babywearing post, you should know that I did buy the Ergo Baby Carrier from a great site that offers a 90 day money back guarantee – if it doesn’t work for you within 90 days, you can return it for your money back. They’ll ship it to you free (got mine in 2 days!) but if you return it, you need to pay for return shipping.

Organic Cranberry with Camel Lining

Organic Cranberry with Camel Lining

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Copyright © 2008. Trying To Be Greener. All rights reserved.
 

2 Responses to “Motrin’s ad against babywearing”

  1. Marcy Says:

    That’s so unfortunate! What do they have to benefit from putting an ad like that? Besides, using my sling was WAY better on my arms and back that having to hold the kid the entire time!

  2. Jennifer Says:

    That is incredibly offensive, so I’m glad they pulled the ads. I hope their marketing people were given a dressing down too.

    I loved carrying my girls around in the Bjorn and in the sling and was sad when they got too big for me to continue.


Leave a Reply

