Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Plastic bags may cost you in NYC and elsewhere November 25, 2008

Mayor Michael Bloomberg of New York City is proposing that all stores charge 6 cents for each plastic bag a customer asks for. Five cents would go to the city and one cent would go to the store owner. The ultimate goal is to encourage customers to start using reusable bags. Ikea started charging customers five cents per bag in 2007 and they report a decrease in plastic bag requests in their stores by 50%.

So lets hear it, readers – participate in the poll today!

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Copyright © 2008. Trying To Be Greener. All rights reserved.
 

4 Responses to “Plastic bags may cost you in NYC and elsewhere”

  1. I’m a big fan of incentives to get people to bring their own bags!

    Here in my town, things have changed greatly in the last couple of years. Just a year or two ago, if I brought my own bags into most stores, I got odd looks and even some grumbling over the inconvenience. Now, no one bats an eyelash over it.

  2. Rebecca Says:

    i think its a great thing! i already use re-usables for most stores except target. I use my target bags as small garbage bags for the various small cans throughout my apartment. If I didn’t get them then I would have to use store bought garbage bags, and somehow that seems more wasteful. Although if i were paying 6 cents a bag I guess I would buy garbage bags!

  3. Criss Says:

    I LOVE THIS IDEA.

    Here, I have to request NOT to have a bag when I buy ONE item. I buy things that can easily fit in my purse or IN MY HAND, and cashiers automatically bag them. AAARRGHH!!!!

    It drives me NUTZ.

  4. Marcy Says:

    I’m still working on getting into the habit of bringing reusable bags with me. However I don’t think paying in itself would be a de3terrent to me. In Europe you pay for paper bags, about 20 cents I think, and I would go for those b/c I preferred them (sturdier, held more, etc).

    That’s interesting about Ikea, I don’t think I’ve ever seen plastic bags offered there.


Leave a Reply

