Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Eliminate static and reduce your dryer time – Naturally! December 18, 2008

Filed under: household solutions — Kirstin @ 9:01 am
Tags: , ,

A few months ago, I wrote about my woes of finding a hidden dryer sheet in my nice, clean laundry from my apartment building’s machine. Just thinking about it now gets me heated up all over again! In that post, I mentioned a few tips on some inexpensive, safe alternatives to those toxic sheets.

Well, since then, I’ve discovered two more options (the second is even more exciting that the first!).

Consider these:

Nellie's All Natural Dryer Balls

Nellie's All Natural Dryer Balls

These dryer balls lift and separate fabrics while relaxing fibers. This means less lint and wrinkles, softer clothes, more absorbent towels and a reduced drying time of up to 25%, which saves you money! They’re toxic-free, environmentally friendly, and guaranteed to last up to 2 years.

But wait! These, I think, are even better! While having some fun the other day, searching around Etsy, I came across this:

Eco Wolly - Wool Dryer Balls

Eco Wolly - Wool Dryer Balls

These dryer balls:

  • are hand spun of minimally processed, all natural dyed wool and felted for superb usability.
  • also reduce your drying time by as much as 25%, saving you money.
  • cut static and laundry cling.
  • are safe for cloth diaper users because there are no chemical ingredients.
  • includes a set of 2 Eco Wooly Balls, each with an 8in circumference before felting and cost $12.00

But best of all, by using these dryer balls, you’re supporting a individual crafter who’s helping you be just a little more “greener”.

Be sure to check out Peaches and Cream’s other dryer balls in a different color and her eco-friendly goods on Etsy.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Copyright © 2008. Trying To Be Greener. All rights reserved.
 

9 Responses to “Eliminate static and reduce your dryer time – Naturally!”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Wow, this is a great Etsy find! Going now to check out the shop and put some dryer balls on my wish list…thanks for sharing.

  2. Bee Says:

    I have used those blue balls in the past, the only pb with them is the noise they make as they tumble in the dryer! 😉

  3. I have those blue dryer balls and my husband and I can’t agree if they actually work or not. He says they do and I say they don’t.

  4. Missy Says:

    I had a version of the blue balls and after using them for a few months a couple of them broke. Pieces of blue came out with my laundry.
    I love the wool idea. Due to unemployed hubby, money is tight, but I’ll bookmark the wooly dryer ball for later. Thank you!

    Since at the moment I don’t use anything at the moment I have made my loads smaller. I don’t have to run the dryer more than once for a load. I’m not great at math so am not sure that it helps with electricity but it has cut down on the time clothing spends in the dryer so it must be good.

  5. Marcy Says:

    I had no idea that dryer sheets helped loads dry faster… I wonder if that’s part of why we’re having issues. I haven’t used dryer sheets since moving back (and acquiring an actual dryer) and have wondered why I ever used them to begin with as clothes come out plenty soft on their own (though I’m comparing to air drying, so anything else feels pretty soft to me). But it takes FOREVER for a load to dry. I might have to look into those wool balls.

  6. Marcy Says:

    Hmm that same seller also has bamboo gdiaper inserts, did you see that?

  7. green girl Says:

    Thanks for the tips! I’ve never used dryer sheets–but my MIL is addicted to them–the smellier, the better in her view. I think I may buy her some of these homemade dryer balls!

  8. Sara Says:

    These look cool and are probably not as noisy as the prickly dryer balls. I’ve been looking for a dryer sheet alternative b/c of allergens and these might be the solution. I did also read that tennis balls work well too so I will probably try that first. But I worry about the chemicals in the tennis balls too.

  9. Don Waldorf Says:

    Hello,I read your tips for static cling.I am a appliance repair tech.No manufacture that I’m aware recommends the dryer balls(excluding wool).Like one customer pointed out ,not only do they break,but they also cause serious damage to dryer fins,and get into place’s they should’nt.So if you don’t like repair bills don’t use them.


Leave a Reply

