Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

I feel pretty, oh so pretty! March 20, 2009

I would say that I keep things pretty basic with the daily beauty products I use. I don’t have a ton of makeup that piles up or multiple shampoo bottles to choose from in my shower. I do, however, like to wear perfume and nail polish occasionally. In fact, I’ve found that when I do wear nail polish, it helps me to want to keep my hands from looking like they wash dishes all day long – it reminds me to pamper them a bit more. The problem is that I stopped wearing nail polish after hearing how much of  it contains formaldehyde, toluene, and dibutyl phthalate.

There are some safer options out there, though. Some of them, I found online like Suncoat and Piggypaint. However, I was able to find one product that I think is easily accessible to many people.

Nicole, made by OPI, is free of DBT, toluene, and formaldehyde and their glass packaging is recyclable. The Nicole line comes in both the traditional nail polishes in the glass jars, called Nail Lacquers, and brush on pens, called Nail Sticks. Both options come in many, many colors and are available at Walmart, Target, Walgreens, Meijer, Longs Drugs, and Harmon Discount Health and Beauty.

I tried the Nail Stick alone without a top or bottom coat and found it to last respectably for 5 day. Pretty good, if you ask me.

Nicole Nail Sticks

Nicole Nail Sticks

I also purchased Soy Polish Remover from a local “green store” near where I live made by Pritti. Its ingredients are soy ester, corn ester, orange oil, and vegetable glycerin. Their DBP, toluene and formaldehyde free nail polish and polish remover can be purchased through Amazon.

Priti Nail Polish Remover

Priti Nail Polish Remover

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Copyright © 2008. Trying To Be Greener. All rights reserved.
 

6 Responses to “I feel pretty, oh so pretty!”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Nail sticks, really? That sounds so convenient. How easy was application and how long did it take to dry? (A consideration if one is talking about a fidgety 8 year old who wants pink toenails.)

  2. Kirstin Says:

    Jennifer,

    Application with the Nail Stick was really easy – it’s like holding a pencil with a brush at the end and they dried quickly. I just did one coat.

    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener

  3. lovingmyfellas Says:

    How well did the green nail polish remover work?

  4. Kirstin Says:

    Loving My Fellas,

    Perfectly well – as good as the “toxic” kind.

    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener

  5. Did you have any issues with how much polish was coming out of the nail stick? That’s the biggest reason why I’ve hesitated on buying them. I remember using lip glosses that were a similar design and it seemed like it always took forever to get any gloss out, and then it’d come in big glops. Are the Nicole sticks more consistent/even?

    Good to know that about the Nicole line being formaldehyde/etc-free!

  6. Kirstin Says:

    Marcy,

    All I needed to do with the nail stick to get it started was press down on the brush a bit. The polish came out in an even flow without problems and I only needed one coat with the light pink that I tried.

    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener


Leave a Reply

