Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Another Non-toxic and organic dish detergent found! April 1, 2009

Last year my first blog post was about my search for the safest dish detergent I could find. What can I say, I was washing baby bottles non-stop then and it made me think about what I was using. 1,4-Dioxane can be found in claimed natural and non-certified organic products, including dish detergents. 1,4-Dioxane is a “byproduct of a process used to soften harsh detergents”, according to the LA Times. This chemical is believed to cause damage to the central nervous system, liver, and kidneys. On January 1, 1988, California recognized it as a chemical that can cause cancer.

I started using Seventh Generation’s Natural Dish Detergent because it seemed to have the lowest traces of it, according to testing by Organic Consumer’s Association. It also seemed to be the easiest to locate. Seventh Generation responded to the findings right around the time of the report and acknowledge that their product contained 1,4-Dioxane and that they want to eliminate it  as soon as they can. The stated, though:

“The compound wasn’t highlighted on our web site nor detailed in our corporate responsibility report. In this, we had failed.”

Right after I wrote this post, I learned about Dapple, which does not contain 1,4-Dioxane. Now I’ve learned about another product that also doesn’t contain it.

Babyganics Foaming Dish and Bottle Soap

Babyganics Foaming Dish and Bottle Soap

Yesterday, while I was shopping at Buy, Buy, Baby, I found Babyganics. Babyganics Foaming Bottle and Dish Soap is non-toxic, organic and doesn’t contain 1,4-Dioxane or ethoxylated materials. It’s even concentrated so you use less of it.

Its ingredients are:

Various naturally derived plant based cleaning agents (coconut, palm kernel, corn & sugar based surfactants), water, preservative (less than 0 .1%)

An added bonus is that it was half priced at Buy, Buy, Baby because the cashier said the packaging is changing soon! To find other locations where you can purchase Babyganics products, click here.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Copyright © 2008. Trying To Be Greener. All rights reserved.
 

2 Responses to “Another Non-toxic and organic dish detergent found!”

  1. auntiemwrites Says:

    Thanks for this post. I will let my d-in-law know as the baby has eczema and she tried to keep everything soft and non-toxic for him especially~

  2. Kimberly Says:

    Thank you so much for the review of this product! I saw theis dishwashing liquid in my local Babies ‘R Us and wondered if it was as environmentally friendly as it claimed to be. Thanks for doing the investigative work for your fellow eco-minded Mums. 🙂 Have a great week! Cheers, Kimberly


Leave a Reply

