Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

Indoor composting April 10, 2009

A few months ago, my blogging friend, Jill, guest posted here about vermicomposting. I told her it would be a great addition to my blog since I don’t have experience in composting due to the fact that I live in an apartment building. She quickly responded with – “How about under your kitchen sink?!” I’m all for “going greener”, but I just can’t bring myself to keeping worms in my kitchen!

Bamboo Compost Pail

Bamboo Compost Pail

How about this great Bamboo Compost Pail from The Container Store.  It looks perfect for apartment dwellers. Use it for composted soil for your indoor plants or herbs. The former teacher in me also can’t help but think that this would be a great learning tool for young children too. The pail:

  • is made from ecologically friendly bamboo.
  • has a set of charcoal filters in the vented lid help contain odors.
  • has a removable liner that’s dishwasher-safe.
  • has a 1 gallon capacity.

If, as an apartment dweller, you’re feeling a bit more adventurous, here’s instructions on how to compost on a larger scale.

By the way, The Container Store is offering 25% off all their merchandise until Monday.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Copyright © 2008. Trying To Be Greener. All rights reserved.
 

9 Responses to “Indoor composting”

  1. Coccinelle Says:

    That compost container is absolutely beautiful! We have to keep it under the sink???

    Seriously, I plan to get one when I will be moving into a house… someday… soon…

  2. Kirstin Says:

    Coccinelle,

    Yes, this is far too nice to keep under the sink. I’d keep it on the counter.

    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener

  3. Tricia Says:

    I agree – would look lovely on a bench top. Its lovely!

  4. truly great idea. i live in a place where i compost outside, but am moving to an apartment and am pretty concerned about how i can compost. so now, i’ll order this baby! thanks for the post.
    The Travel Expert(a) and an Expat with a Twist

  5. auntiemwrites Says:

    You find the neatest stuff! And thanks for the tip on the sale, I’m headed there right now~

  6. Daisy Says:

    Ooh — this container is rather nice! I haven’t been able to bring myself to buy a fancy kitchen composter. I use old butter tubs or ice cream buckets until they fall apart. But this one: I could use this one year round in my cold state of Wisconsin.

  7. Raquel Says:

    So I’m confused – do you still need worms to make this composting bin work? How many worms do you think?

  8. Kirstin Says:

    Raquel,

    No, you don’t need worms for this. Just follow the instructions listed towards the bottom of the post that say:

    “If, as an apartment dweller, you’re feeling a bit more adventurous, here’s instructions on how to compost on a larger scale.”

    Hope this helps,
    Kirstin @ Trying To Be Greener

  9. Bokashi Says:

    I use the Bokashi bin for my indoor composting. Sadly I can not do it outside, since I do not have a garden. But I’m doing fine with the Bokashi, since I’ve reduced the amount of my kitchen waste by approximately 50% now.


Leave a Reply

