Trying To Be Greener

Safer eco-living, one day at a time

A “Green House” for my Green Girl December 18, 2009

Filed under: children,recycling — Kirstin @ 4:08 pm
Tags: ,

My daughter turned 2 years old this week and leading up to her birthday, I looked all over for a doll house. Most are geared for 3 year olds. I didn’t want to get her something too simple that she’d grow out of soon and then feel the need to replace it with a more sophisticated one  later.

So here’s what I did instead!

I bought this Plan Toys Modern Furniture Set, which is made from all natural organic recycled rubber wood, but left out a few pieces in the doll house due to its size.  My thinking is that these pieces are ones that a child of any age would enjoy playing with. There’s two additional sets pictured – the Plan Toys Doll House Nursery and the Plan Toys City Casual Family of Four.

The house itself? Well it’s pretty “green” too since it’s from a recycled box. If there comes a point later on where she wants an actual doll house, I didn’t add a simpler one to a land fill and saved some money along the way. I’m really hoping Green Girl lives up to her name and continues to like this one though!

I know all of you have great imaginations! What have you recycled into toys for your little ones?

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

 

7 Responses to “A “Green House” for my Green Girl”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    My girls were fascinated with dollhouses right around age 2 too, so I’m not at all surprised that your girl is. I love your solution!

  2. Kirstin Says:

    Thanks!

    Trying To Be Greener – Safer eco-living, one day at a time https://tryingtobegreener.wordpress.com

  3. Jill Says:

    Wonderful idea… and it looks great too!

  4. Becky Says:

    Funny you should ask this. Just this week I turned unused old thank you cards into flash cards for my 17 month old. We are working on shapes and colors so I wanted to make some flash cards but didn’t have any index cards in the house. The thank you cards (torn in two) are actually thicker than index cards so it worked out. When Colin was trying to stick them into the heater vents (thankfully they were too big), I made a ‘mail slot’ out of a box someone sent us Christmas gifts. He LOVES it, and actually spends more time with the flash cards than he did before I made the slot.

  5. Sommer Says:

    Too cute! Happy birthday to your little green girl.

  6. How cute! I would have loved that as a kid!

  7. Tricia Says:

    I love it!!

    I recently ordered some Plan Toys furniture for a second hand dolls house I found.

    I’m sure your Green Girl will love the house.


Leave a Reply

